Small vases; spring posies in blue

PI love the idea of a cutting patch – a “spare” sunny border devoted to flowers grown specifically for cutting for the house. Like most of us I don’t really have the space in the garden. What sunny borders I do have have to to double duty – look good outside and provide flowers for inside.

So I can’t usually pick great swathes of one flower – but smaller vases can still have an impact. Take this one – it’s a salt and pepper set, brought back for me by a friend on holiday. The two vases are supposed to hold toothpicks (I think!) but they were the perfect size for a couple of small posies. I love the blue and white against the bright white china.

There are the last of the grape hyacinths in here and blue and white bluebells. I’m not keen on either of these in the garden – too invasive – but they keep reappearing. Actually, I do love the concentrated blue of the grape hyacinths but ideally they need to be contained in something. Where I used to live in Highgate, the was a low garden wall that was just full of these lovely little flowers in Spring and the colour was amazing.

And bluebells really belong in beech wood – that’s where they are at their best, a sea of blue-y purple carpeting the floor. Once picked they can wilt quickly, so I conditioned these by searing the cut stems in a few centimetres of boiling water for 15 seconds. Try it, it really does make a difference.

image

Bluebells, grape hyacinths, forget me nots and honeywort cerinthe in china cruet

 

 

Leave a Reply

